Meet Our New Board Members

The Winnipeg Foundation

The Winnipeg Foundation is pleased to announce the following new appointments to our board of directors, effective January 2017.

George Bass

George Bass, Q.C., ICD.D

George Bass recently retired from his position as Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary of Wawanesa Insurance group of companies, where he worked for more than 16 years. Prior to that, he spent more than 18 years in general legal practice. His focus was in the areas of real estate, Wills, estates, litigation and corporate law. Currently, he is a volunteer Director with Literary Review of Canada and is a Life Bencher with the Law Society of Manitoba.


Daniel Freidman

Daniel Freidman

Daniel Freidman is President and COO of Pavilion Financial Corporation. His career in the financial services industry spans more than 15 years. As President, he is responsible for the overall management of Pavilion Financial Corporation and its subsidiaries and leading its growth strategy. He is a Director on the Boards of the Plug In Institute of Contemporary Art and the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra.


Patricia Mainville

Patricia Mainville

Pat Mainville is Vice-Principal of David Livingstone School. Formerly she worked as an inner-city school Guidance Counsellor at Children of the Earth High School. She is familiar with the work of The Foundation and has served both on the Strategic Initiatives Committee (January 2011 to September 2012) and Grants Committee (September 2012 to present).



Anita Southall

Anita Southall

Anita Southall is a partner with Fillmore Riley LLP and practices in the area of estates and trusts management, including estate administration and litigation and administrative and regulatory law. She has been with Filmore Riley since 1987. Ms. Southall is former Co-Chair of The Foundation’s Nourishing Potential Advisory Committee and also served on the Professional Advisors Steering Committee.

Ever wonder how Winnipeggers are appointed to The Foundation’s Board of Directors?

The process is as old as the provincial Act that created The Winnipeg Foundation, back in 1921. Board terms are typically four years with potential to renew for up to three terms (a total of 12 years).

Selecting appointees is always a challenge as The Foundation attempts to include a diversity of skills, longterm stability, experience and perspectives amongst Foundation Directors. It looks at a broad range of skillsets amongst potential appointees, from community involvement to background diversity and other areas of specialty and expertise.

The Board Governance Committee identifies three potential nominees for each vacancy, and then these names are sent to the Appointing Board for consideration.

The Appointing Board includes the following:

  • Lieutenant-Governor of Manitoba
  • Chief Justice of Manitoba
  • Chief Justice of the Court of Queen’s Bench
  • Mayor of the City of Winnipeg
  • Registrar-General of Manitoba