Centennial Institute

Arts, Culture & Heritage

The Centennial Institute is a legacy initiative created by The Foundation to celebrate its 100th anniversary.  

Primarily supporting the study of Canadian and Indigenous history with a Winnipeg and Manitoba focus, its mandate is to enrich the study of history with particular interest in human rights and the evolution of civil society. 

More than ten graduate level scholarships are already in place. The Centennial Institute endowment fund will provide on-going discretionary revenues to support related projects.

  • About the Centennial Institute [PDF], includes:
    • Commentary on creation and mandate
    • Vision, mission, and values
    • Recent grants, allowances and awards
    • List of Scholarships

Support the Centennial Institute!

For more information, please contact Anna-Maria Pozzi at 204-944-9474.

Scholarships & Study Award for students


Centennial Institute Scholarships support Masters and PhD students in the Joint Master’s Program (JMP) offered by the University of Manitoba and the University of Winnipeg.

Study Award

A Centennial Institute Study Award is available to any student enrolled in Years I or II of the Joint Masters Program (JMP) offered by the History Departments of the University of Manitoba and the University of Winnipeg. It is also available to MA students registered in Native Studies or Indigenous Governance at these two universities as well as MA students in Canadian Studies at St. Boniface University.

Centennial Institute Grants for charitable organizations

Centennial Institute Grants provide grants up to $15,000 to charitable organizations from across the province that undertake projects to enrich our appreciation of Manitoba history.

Recent Grants

The following organizations received $15,000 grants in 2021 for projects that embellish appreciation of Manitoba’s history from diverse perspectives:

  • National Indigenous Residential School Museum of Canada
  • African Communities of Manitoba Inc.
  • Winnipeg Chinese Cultural and Community Centre Corporation
  • Nor’West Co-Op Community Health Centre, Inc.
  • Japanese Cultural Association of Manitoba Inc.
  • Yellowquill College Inc.
  • The WRENCH (The Winnipeg Repair Education and Cycling Hub Inc.)
  • Immigrant and Refugee Community Organization of Manitoba (IRCOM)
  • St. Amant Foundation Inc.
  • Women’s Health Clinic Inc.
  • Darlingford School Heritage Fund
  • Manitoba Historical Society

Special Report

  • Manitoba’s Employment Landscape in the Heritage Field [PDF]
    A report on the research conducted Legacy Bowes of the existing roles that exist within the Heritage fields, across various types of organizations that focus on the preservation, study, education and communication of History.

Steering Committee

  • Richard Frost, Chair
  • James Hanley, Vice Chair
  • Stan McKay, Elder
  • Janis Thiessen, JMP Chair
  • Greg Bak
  • Jennifer Dueck
  • Joy Loewen
  • Maureen Matthews
  • Phi Vu Nguyen
  • Karen Sharma

History Department Heads from U of M Tina Chen (2020), Roisin Cossar (2021) and from U of W Mark Meuwese were also active participants.

Dalnavert Museum’s Elizabeth Alloway Lectures

Dalnavert Museum, in collaboration with The Winnipeg Foundation’s Centennial Institute, presents:

Elizabeth Alloway Lectures

Elizabeth Alloway, a woman of courage and conviction, played an active philanthropic role in our community at a time when women could not vote. She and husband William established The Winnipeg Foundation in 1921.

A series of nine public lectures will focus on the time period, the community, and the interests of Elizabeth Alloway including her special interest in the work of women and the well-being of children.

The free lectures will be delivered monthly (with a summer break) via ZOOM or at Dalnavert (dependent on COVID-19 restrictions), starting February 2021.

For more information download the event brochure – Celebrating our Centennial: Honouring Elizabeth Alloway [PDF]

The lectures are free but if you’d like to make a gift it will support Friends of Dalnavert Museum Fund and Elizabeth Alloway History Scholarship – Make a gift

How would you like to start?

Give Now Start Your Own Fund Contact Us